French Collections Guide

Pre-Revolutionary France

The Terror, Napoleon, and the Reorganization of France

Life in France, French Views of the United States

Business, Industry, Technology, and Science

Fairs and Expositions

Art and Design

Popular, Material, and Consumer Culture




Library Home

Hagley Home




Studying French History and Culture at Hagley

The Hagley Library’s extensive collections contain a wealth of information on French history and culture. These items date from the fifteenth century to the present and span a variety of subjects, including the Revolutionary period, French business and commerce, consumer culture, and interior design. Researchers will find French-related information throughout Hagley’s Manuscripts and Archives, Imprints, and Pictorial Collections departments or online via the Hagley Digital Archives.




Drawings of Fortifications,
Fortification Reguliere
by Mr. le Marechal de Vauban
from The Guttmann Collection
View in the Hagley Digital Archives


Death Sentence of Antoine Laurent
Lavoisier, 1794-05-08
from Papers of Pierre Samuel
du Pont de Nemours (1739 - 1817)
View in the Hagley Digital Archives


Passport, Pierre Samuel du Pont
de Nemours, 1774,
from Papers of Pierre Samuel
du Pont de Nemours (1739 - 1817)
View in the Hagley Digital Archives


Le Chateau Royal de Versailles du Coté
de la Grande Avenue de Paris
[Balloon over Versailles, 1784],
from Lammot du Pont, Jr. Aeronautical
photograph collection
View in the Hagley Digital Archives